WileyFox Swift Battery Drain

Got a nice new WileyFox Swift to replace my ageing Samsung Wave. So the Swift is running Android – well Cyanogen – and the Wave wasn’t. Also, the Wave was clearly not a Smartphone in the current sense and the Swift is.

Nevertheless, as lovely as the Swift is, the battery drain is pretty shocking. I could leave the Wave days before it needed charging but the Swift tells me the battery is at about 10% after not even a day! Various forum posts have lamented the poor battery life on this and some other phones but, for me, this is just not acceptable. Is it just a bad phone?

Well, it seems not.

Digging a bit further I found the app using most of the battery was CyanogenMod (the OS) itself. So, why would that be? More digging led to me looking at each app to check the battery usage. Nothing stood out until I chose to show system apps. This clearly showed that the Accelerometer Calibration app had used over 65% battery since last charge..What!!

What the hell is it even doing to be so busy?

More than one post on the web said that some apps, after using the accelerometer, don’t finish with it, but others suggest the issue is with the Accelerometer Calibration itself.

Regardless, I did a forced stop on it, performed a reboot and, so far, my battery is looking good again. There might be some residual issues but I’ll cross that bridge….

Leave a comment